Diploma of Aviation (AVI50215)
Commercial Pilot Licence - Aeroplane

This course comprises of the RPL, PPL and Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL) curriculum. CRICOS Course Code 092298D




Students must be over 18 years of age and at least 10 years of education. Student must also be able to pass the security and background checks by the AFP due to civil aviation safety regulations.

Hold a CASA Class One Aviation Medical Certificate (if not, we have in house DAME, refer to "AVIATION MEDICAL" page). Unless secondary school has been conducted in English, an IELTS overall score of 6.0 (either academic or general assessments).

Diploma of Aviation (Commercial Pilot Licence-Aeroplane), 48 Weeks (includes 4 weeks break): $59,945.00

Please note: the prices estimated above are based on the CASA minimum hour requirements; however the amount of training time required varies on the individual.


The theoretical knowledge required by a commercial pilot is significantly more complex than a private pilot. This section of the course takes longer, as students learn theory to a far greater depth.

This part of the course can be the most fun for students. Now that they hold a Private Pilot Licence, students may typically go in small group to gain command flying experience with other students towards their Commercial Pilot Licence.

The course fee includes all theory, textbooks, uniforms and exam and flight test for the first attempt only, navigation equipment, maps etc and initial issue of Navigation and CASA documents. Should the student require additional training or have to re-sit any exam or flight test, the additional cost will be charged at current published rates.


Emergency Services Pilot, Airline Pilot, Flight Instructor, Air Force Pilot, Licence Aeronautical Engineer, Helicopter Pilot, Airline Program Manager, Agricultural Pilot (Cropduster).


To gain the Diploma of Aviation (Commercial Pilot Licence-Aeroplane) a successful assessment outcome for the following 28 core units and 1 elective unit must be achieved.
A total of 29 units of competency comprising: 28 core units listed below plus 1 general elective unit from the general elective units listed below. The general elective unit must contribute to the vocational outcomes of the qualification.

UnitsUnit Codes
Maintain aircraft radiocommunictionsAVIE4001
Implement aviation risk management processesAVIF0004
Implement aviation fatigue risk management processesAVIF0005
Implement threat and error management strategiesAVIF0007
Manage safe flight operationsAVIF0008
Manage aircraft passengers and cargoAVIF0011
Manage human factors in aviation operationsAVIF0014
Plan a flight under visual flight rulesAVIH0002
Navigate aircraft under visual flight rulesAVIH4001
Licence to operate a commercial aeroplaneAVILIC0001
Manage disruptive behaviour and unlawful interference with aviationAVIO0002
Manage pre- and post-flight actionsAVIW4001
Operate and manage aircraft systemsAVIW5018
Operate aircraft using aircraft flight instrumentsAVIY0001
Operate in controlled airspaceAVIY0002
Operate in Class G airspaceAVIY0003
Operate at non-towered aerodromesAVIY0004
Operate at a controlled aerodromeAVIY0005
Apply aeronautical knowledge to aviation operationsAVIY0008
Apply the principles of civil air law to aviation operationsAVIY0009
Execute advanced aeroplane manoeuvres and proceduresAVIY0018
Manage abnormal aeroplane flight situationsAVIY0019
Control aeroplane on the groundAVIY4001
Take off aeroplaneAVIY4002
Control aeroplane in normal flightAVIY4003
Land aeroplaneAVIY4004
Manage aircraft fuelAVIY4007
Manage situational awareness in aircraft flightAVIZ4001
Apply aircraft safety procedures *AVIF0001

*General elective units.